Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
All reviews - Movies (672) - TV Shows (4)

The Start Of A Landmark Trilogy.

Posted : 7 years, 10 months ago on 9 December 2009 01:38 (A review of The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring)

The Fellowship Of The Ring is the start of new landmarks of filmmaking. Fellowship Of The Ring s the one film of the trilogy that is rated PG whereas The Two Towers and The Return Of The King are PG-13/12A. This one was quite scary because of the Nazgul/Ringwraiths who are on the trail of the Ring. The opening scene is probably the most powerful start to a film that I have ever seen before in a film. It was full of anticipation and excitement of what's coming in the trilogy. From the novels, the start sort of tells the epilogue of the book. It was very tense involving the Ringwraiths. All of these names in all three are made-up names, made-up places and made-up races (apart from Men). This first one was a brand new experience to everybody because no film like it has ever been done before. There has never been a fantasy story with such a believable force to it.


The cast was really good in this one as well as the other two films. Elijah Wood was good as Frodo but seems a bit over the top when he cries. He was still really good though. Ian McKellen delivers a very well deserved Oscar nominated performance as Gandalf The Grey. I prefer seeing Gandalf grey than white because grey is Gandalf's original form and he looks a bit weird white whereas grey he looks cool. His performance is a lot like Alec Guinness' performance in Star Wars: Episode IV ? A New Hope apart from Alec hated Star Wars. Viggo Mortensen was awesome as Aragorn/Strider. He is a very heroic character with a big heart. He wasn't very well known until Lord Of The Rings. Aragorn reveals himself to be heir to the throne of Gondor aka Isildur's Heir. He meets the four Hobbits Frodo, Sam, Merry and Pippin in an inn called Prancing Pony and helps them reach Rivendell. When there, he falls in love with Arwen who is the daughter of Elrond who is probably the most powerful Elf in Middle-Earth. Other cast members Christopher Lee, Sean Astin, Dominic Managhan, Billy Boyd, Liv Tyler, Hugo Weaving, Orlando Bloom, John Rhys-Davies, Cate Blanchett and Sean Bean were really good as their characters in this film.


Peter Jackson has created an unforgettable trilogy that will probably be remade in about 40 years time. The first film was directed absolutely brilliantly by a director who directed all three films in the same way. He has created the cinema changing franchise that I think everybody loves. All three Lord Of The Rings films are just too perfect to describe. The script was really good. It is really rare of a fantasy film to earn an Oscar nomination for the script. Yes, it was a very long film and there wasn't one flawed scene not even in the extended versions of the trilogy.


This is the start to the best franchise ever. No matter how many times you watch it you will always experience something new about it. Also, you will get this feeling that tells you "I want to watch The Two Towers and/or Return Of The King now". This is the best film of 2001 and alongside its sequels it changed my liking for cinema forever! Loved Lord Of The Rings before and love it just as much now. Always will love it!!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

My all-time favourite action film!!

Posted : 7 years, 10 months ago on 9 December 2009 01:38 (A review of Indiana Jones and the Raiders of the Lost Ark)

This is truly one of the best action packed thrill rides of all time. It is a really tense film too because it is quite a violent film in some ways. This film was the dawning of one of the greatest movie heroes of all time. Indiana Jones truly is in my opinion one of the coolest characters in cinema history. This film made me feel really tense because there are some scenes where there are a lot of scary moments especially when Indy and Marion were in this hole where the Ark is and there are snakes and dead corpses. Also, because of the fight scenes that Indy comes across and is a question of how Indy will pull his awkward situation off.


Harrison Ford delivers an absolutely outstanding performance as Indiana Jones. Harrison Ford is the perfect actor for Indy because he makes the character like a James Bond sort of character. He is rather deadly, he is a real charm to women but the main thing is that the character is a really cool and clever character that truly is a hero. I think that Harrison would have been good enough for an Oscar nomination. I think Harrison Ford only became really well known in the 1970s and 1980s and a few films in the 1990s too. Mostly the four Indiana Jones films, the original Star Wars trilogy and I really liked his performance in The Fugitive too. I really liked Karen Allen in this film as Marion Ravenwood. Her character isn't really an action packed character but it is more of an emotional character. She is a really cool accomplice to Indy and she forms a not only a love relationship but also a really adventurous combination.


The direction from Steven Spielberg was absolutely outstanding. He made it his most adventurous film ever and also in my opinion Steven Spielbergs best character too. The actions and all of the things that Indy did were just too cool to be true. They were deadly and really charming too. Steven Spielberg directs this film really well as both he and George Lucas make Indy a really difficult character to defeat even when Indy is in a really awkward situation. Indy always wins in the end!!! The written screenplay was absolutely awesome.


It is my favourite of all four of the Indiana Jones films because it is the classic of all four and in my opinion it has the best written story and a more exciting thrill ride than all the others even though I love all four of them. I love Harrison Ford as Indiana Jones but I think I like him more as Han Solo in the original Star Wars trilogy. It is my second favourite Steven Spielberg film after Saving Private Ryan. For me, this film achieved itself to be one of the best action packed films of all time. It is a shame that this isnt a biography film but it would have been great if there was one. It is really high on my top action packed films of all time. It is the start of a franchise that will never be forgotten. Masterpiece from Steven Spielberg and George Lucas! Always has been and always will be a classic action packed phenomenon.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Tim Burton makes a film of drama and imagination.

Posted : 7 years, 10 months ago on 9 December 2009 01:36 (A review of Edward Scissorhands)

Aww... Edward Scissorhands is a film that has made me feel pleasure and inspiration within life. It is one of the wierdest Tim Burton films but it is weird enough for it to be real because Edward is like a really beautiful character to watch. It is a weird film with obviously fictional characteristics but with a heartbreaking meaning to the film. It is weird because when you see the cover of the DVD, it doesn't seem that beautiful but when you watch it, it really is. It is Tim Burton's most emotional film so far. It made me feel great because of the pure magic and of what Edward can actually do with himself especially when he lives all alone in a castle above a small town. It is just so magical when Edward is cutting things into shapes especially ice that turns into snow. Love the scene where he is cutting ice in the garden and while he is doing it Kim comes out and sort of relaxes in the snow. That is just like heaven. This film is an inspiration to me because it teaches me no matter what someone looks like it is more about their personality and who they really are. Despite of how romantic and dramatic this film is, this film is absolutely hilarious.


Johnny Depp delivers an absolutely awesome performance as Edward Scissorhands. His performance is a performance which is very unlike Johnny really because Johnny hasnt really portrayed any soft, loving characters before. People love Johnny in this film for many reasons but one of the main ones is because he is only in his late 20s early 30s in this film and is quite good looking. Johnny's hair, costume and make-up totally suited him. As much as I simply adored his performance in this film, I do have to say I like Johnny more as Sweeney Todd. Winona Ryder's performance is good as Kim. Her acting is good when she is sort of bewildered and intimidated by Edward but I dont think it is very good when she starts to fall in love with Edward. Her words were for some reason quite weak but she did cry in a few scenes which looked real. I did like her more in this than Beetlejuice. Dianne Wiest was really good in this film too. She was a really good mother to Edward even though Edward is a grown man. She could have been better but she was still good though.


Tim Burton directs this film ever so well because this is a story that he has thought of himself. It was really well filmed, written and directed by Tim Burton only from his imagination. Its like Tims very own story. I am really inspired that Tim chose to just use his head to make it instead of writing a novel of it and then making a film adaptation afterwards. As I said, it was really well written from a mans head without a novel to help. Also, it is a fantasy story which makes it quite a bit harder. For a film like this, I do honestly think that Burton deserved an Oscar nomination for Best Adapted Screenplay or should have at least been close. This is typical Tim Burton because of the bizarreness of the story and the characters but it is quite different compared to some others because it is a very emotional and both heartwarming and heartbreaking aswell which is unlike Tim Burton. I think that is one of the reasons Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber Of Fleet Street and Edward Scissorhands are my two favourite Tim Burton films: because they are both emotional stories.


This is my second favourite Tim Burton film after Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber Of Fleet Street. Four of Tim Burtons films are on my favourite films list. It is my second favourite Johnny Depp film after Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber Of Fleet Street. Edward Scissorhands is only just ahead of the Pirates Of The Caribbean trilogy. It is on the list for one of my most inspiring films. Edward Scissorhands is one of my favourite fantasy films and romantic films of all time. It is my favourite film of 1990. It is one of my top films of all time too. An unusual masterpiece from an unusual director Tim Burton which is great!! Always have loved this film and always will.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Kubrick's best and best film of the 70s

Posted : 7 years, 10 months ago on 9 December 2009 01:31 (A review of A Clockwork Orange)

A Clockwork Orange is one of the single most disturbing films I have ever seen. Many times I have heard even when I was at school that both the film and novel are really scary. When I watched A Clockwork Orange it wasn't so much a scary film but it was a film that will just stay on your mind for a long time and it is totally mind blowing. A Clockwork Orange truly is one of the most powerful psychological thrillers of all time. Personally, it was the story that made me deeply interested in this film more than it was a film from Stanley Kubrick. It was very tense as well because as the film went on I was suspecting that there will be a huge twist around the corner. I don't completely get why people refer this as a classic science fiction film because, yes, it is a technology that is invented refered as a 'cure' but it isn't an impossible invention for the future seeing that nothing is impossible. I only saw it for the first time in January 2008 and it was a bit obvious to me that I was going to love this film a lot.


Malcolm McDowell's performance as Alex DeLarge was bloody awesome with a scary, weird and even quite funny performance. Malcolm is quite a scary looking man anyway which makes him an absolutely outstanding choice for Alex. It wasn't only Malcolm's appearance as Alex that made him terrifying but it was his voice as well. Why he wasn't nominated for Best Leading Actor at the 44th Academy Awards I have no clue. Alex is a very twisted young man who is the leader of a gang called Droogs. Alex's pleasures include classical music particularly Beethoven, rape and ultra violence. His three companions are called Pete, Dim and Georgie. When Alex is at home with his parents he behaves but skives off school. His parents probably refer his as an angel until he is arrested. The scene that truly shows Alex is twisted is when him and his Droogs break into a writer called Mr. Frank Alexander's house and they are both ambushed. Alex is cutting his wife's clothes off with scissors and beating Mr. Alexander up while he is singing to "Singin' In The Rain" which makes it worse because it is a very delightful song. That song was chosen for the film because apparently that was the only song Malcolm McDowell knew all of the words to. Mr. Alexander was being forced to watch his wife getting brutally raped. Despite how cold Alex really is he is a very interesting character to watch because he is rather mysterious of why he is the way he is. As far as Alex's "cure" is concerned, the ending leaves you with questions and because of that I feel it is a light twist.


Stanley Kubrick has directed this film absolutely amazingly. Kubrick has always been really clever as far as camera angles are concerned. There is one scene that freaked me out was at the very start of the film where Alex gives that evil look directly at the camera and then very slowly zooms out while Alex is still giving that look. Kubrick's A Clockwork Orange is very weird which does make this film absolutely typical of Kubrick to direct. The script was really awesome with very powerful and effective scenes and with very well written lines from each of the characters.


A Clockwork Orange is one of Kubrick's best works. A Clockwork Orange is definitely his most famous film. This film features one of the best psychological thrillers that have ever hit the screen. It is probably my favourite film of the 1970s and is my favourite Kubrick film. I love them both equally. It would probably be The Shining. A Clockwork Orange is a fine example of a disturbing film that leaves you to think about various things and reflect on deep thoughts about how tense and often quite terrifying (not in a scary way) this film really is.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Beauty of cinema...

Posted : 7 years, 10 months ago on 9 December 2009 01:31 (A review of American Beauty)

American Beauty is a film about life. It is a surburban drama which features what like is like in USA. This film is very bizarre in alot of other ways because of the fantasies that Lester has and what Ricky Fitts tries to prove when videoing things all the time. I personally think that at the start it seemed very female film because of the roses, visions etc but it is very male aswell. This is a film on drama, betrayal, obsession and about life in a new angle and in it's new way. It seemed a bit like a peaceful area because all of the houses and gardens within the neighbourhood look really clean and very beautiful but I find American Beauty to be a rather dark film. This film teaches the other side of America and what beautiful and natural things really are like. It tells taht side of the story because it gives that in the title. American Beauty is a very inspiring film that can warm people's hearts or can break them because of the events that take place within the film. Well, for me it did both of those things which is what a lot of other people would think of it.


Kevin Spacey gives the performance of his career. I knew that it was Spacey portraying Lester Burnham obviously but Lester is a character I can easily get the hang of and get to understand. Lester is suffering from a mid-life crisis because he ahtes his job, his bitch of a wife and young daughter who has a lot of problems against him. To take his mind off that he fantasises about and has a crush on his daughter Jane's friend Angela Hayes. Whatever character Kevin portrays for some reason he always makes me laugh even in The Usual Suspects. I found Lester really funny because he is very sarcastic with his wife which truly reveals that he hates her. Annette Bening added more spice to this film. Her performance was fantastic as Carolyn Burnham. She is the villain of this film because she always causes a fight with Lester. She is almost like a control freak who will lose control if she doesn't get what she wants but the main reason is because she ends up having an affair and cheating on Lester. They both have crushes and affairs without the other person even realising. Annette made me laugh aswell even though Carolyn is a greedy, selfish, careless and self-absorbed bitch she brings comedy together with Kevin Spacey. Thora Birch's performance as Jane Burnham was good but in my opinion could have been better. She is a nice looking woman now but I think she was a bit too ugly for Jane's character. Thora is a really powerful actress with a lot of character thouhg I really liked Wes Bentley as Jane's boyfriend and a really good friend of her father Lester Ricky Fitts. He seems like a charmer who people can fall for easily but also a complete slimeball with alot of dirty secrets by keeping lots of illegal drugs in his bedroom with faking a urine test by using someone else's so he can smoke and use the drugs. Mena Suvari was really good as Angela Hayes. Mena was an adult at the time this film was released because I realised this after seeing American Pie which was released in the same year as American Beauty, Mena really looked like a young irresistible teenager so personally I don't blame Lester for falling for her. I liked Chris Cooper too as Colonel Frank Fitts who is strict, abusive, bully, homophobic and controlling particularly against his son Ricky.


Sam Mendes gives his first and best film of his whole career. He hasn't done many films at all but they are all good films. Mendes makes American Beauty one of the most powerful films ever made. Mendes? directing career starting with American Beauty makes it the greatest film directing debut of all time. The closest rival in my opinion is Orson Welles as both actor and director in Citizen Kane. Sam Mendes wanted us to be trapped in a circle so to speak to get into the characters and to get into the chemistry between them. Alan Ball writes a very good script which is very original. I find pretty much all of original scripts to be the same.


American Beauty is one of my favourite dramas, one of my favourite film partnerships, a tie for best film of 1999 with The Green mile, Kevin Spacey's best, Sam Mendes' best, the greatest directing debut ever, one of the most powerful and beautiful films of all time with one of the biggest meaning, a close collision of best film of 1990's with Forrest Gump, The Green Mile and Fight Club. I will never forget American Beauty because it is a treasured piece of art for me which makes it one of the best films ever!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Life is like a box of chocolates...

Posted : 7 years, 10 months ago on 9 December 2009 01:25 (A review of Forrest Gump)

Forrest Gump is one of the single most amazing films that I have ever watched in my whole life. Forrest Gump is one of the biggest inspirations to me and I have many reasons for this. It is a beautiful story of a man with a low IQ who experiences different things in life. That can encourage people to live life to the maximum level they can just like Forrest does. Forrest Gump and The Curious Case Of Benjamin Button are the only two films that make me see through life and what there is to achieve within it even though they both tell different stories of life. Forrest Gump is a film that I cannot take my eyes off while I'm watching it because it is that much of an inspiration to me. Forrest Gump is a purely magical story that is really well known in the public especially with the Bubba-Gump shrimp restaurant in Manhattan, New York in which I went to when I was 13 years old. It is a comedy but I wouldn't call Forrest Gump an absolutely outrageously hilarious film because it is more of a romantic drama. Forrest Gump is the feel-good film of the 1990s and it is that simple. It is a deeply lovable story that I have watched time and time again when I need cheering up or anything like that. Forrest Gump himself is an inspiration to me as well because through Forrest I can see other different kinds of people especially people with learning difficulties, disabilities or anything else like that.


Tom Hanks' performance as Forrest Gump is a one-of-a-kind performance that can never be beaten. Personally, I think Tom Hanks as Forrest Gump is the best leading male performance of all time because he is one of the few actors who can make the character very realistic like they're a real person. Performances that are quite similar to Tom Hanks as Forrest Gump are Dustin Hoffman as Raymond Babbitt, Sean Penn as Sam Dawson, Russell Crowe as John Nash and Brad Pitt as Benjamin Button. Tom Hanks portraying Forrest Gump truly is a performance that will become legend in the future because of the accent and the truly realistic personality that Hanks brings into the character. Tom Hanks has always been an actor of such inspiration to me because he has been in masterpieces where he has portrayed different characters and has given very different points of views of films and the character's personalities. The Green Mile made Tom Hanks my favourite actor of all time and when I saw Forrest Gump, he became even more of an inspiration to me. Hanks' performance as Forrest Gump is a performance that I personally think is sort of respecting to those people who suffer with disabilities and learning difficulties in real-life by showing what it is really like to suffer from a disability. Forrest Gump is a man who is born with an unknown disability and has leg braces on his legs. The doctor says his legs are the ones that are strong but his back is really crooked. He lives with his mother in a mansion on the outskirts of Alabama. Things start taking a turn for Forrest because he starts school and he ends up being the victim of bullying. I think the one scene that sends chills down my back is when Forrest is running from the bullies while he has the leg braces on and Jenny says "Run, Forrest, Run!" Then his braces come off and he starts to run really fast while Forrest as an adult is telling the story. He experiences college, the army, ping-pong, shrimping and being a national celebirty which is a dream life and Forrest is the lucky one chosen for it. His love for Jenny is one that she never really understood because she said that he doesn't know what love is but he sees love in a clearer and better way than she does because he had love for her but she had love for sex and illegal drugs. Robin Wright Penn's performance as Jenny Curran was another amazing performance. Robin portrayed a very emotional yet a very disturbed and confused Jenny with such realistic motions and ways of expressing other people who are in that kind of situation in life. Jenny was the only friend Forrest had as a child. She achieves all of the things within high school but she got too deeply involved with sex and illegal drugs. After she was kicked out of college, she became a drug addict and prostitute unbeknownst to Forrest. Robin proves as well that only she can portray Jenny. Gary Sinise's performance as Lieutenant Dan Taylor is probably the most serious performance of the whole film because he is a man who suffers and thinks he doesn't need to live anymore but eventually his life gets back on track again. Sinise showed the really emotional side to Dan and also the very rude and abbrupt side to his personality as well. Dan is a Lieutenant of a platoon during the war in Vietnam with Forrest and Bubba as two of those soldiers. After an unexpected attack from the Vietnamese, he and most of the platoon get wiped out or badly injured. Forrest rescues pretty much all of the platoon including Dan but he had to have his legs cut off. That is where he thinks he has no other reason why to live. Dan now behaved a bit like Forrest. Dan didn't want to be called "cripple" or "freak" just like Forrest didn't want to be called "retard" or "stupid". Sally Field's performance as Mrs. Gump was an absolutely fantastic one. She reminded me a lot of Queenie in The Curious Case Of Benjamin Button. Sally Field is only 11 years older than Tom Hanks and she is portraying his mother. That is exactly the same when Toni Collette and Paul Dano were in Little Miss Sunshine together because Collette is only 11 years older than Dano and she portrays his mother. Mykelti Williamson was really good as Bubba but did get quite annoying at times.


Forrest Gump was the first Robert Zemeckis film that I saw and I have to say that he won't ever create another film as good as Forrest Gump. Zemeckis is a director who has given us films of different genres but all have one genre in common that the characters experience: adventure. If Zemeckis hadn't directed Forrest Gump there wouldn't be a Forrest Gump masterpiece and it is that simple. Zemeckis is a man who has brought a gift to the world as well as the film world that life can be beautiful if you live it to the maximum level. This is a film adapted from a novel and this film couldn't be better adapted in any other way than it was in this film.


Forrest Gump is my all-time favourite drama, it is the best film of the 1990s and that is probably the best decade for cinema. Forrest Gump is Tom Hanks's best film and always will be, it is Robert Zemeckis' best work and always will be hopefully. Forrest Gump is a masterpiece that is filled with comedy, beauty and heartbreak. Forrest Gump and The Curious Case Of Benjamin Button are two films that are very similar and those two are the two biggest inspirations to me. Forrest Gump has its rightful place on one of my close favourite films of all time.


0 comments, Reply to this entry


« Prev 1... 65 66 67 68Next »

Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block